Page 1 of 1

Subsampling on axis

Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2021 6:16 pm
by APOS80
It would be nice to subsample by length on axis.

I use it for pointclouds thats from areal photos of the ground so the hight is on Z axis.
It would help to subsample with 0,5 on X/Y axis and 0,1 on Z axis.

Re: Subsampling on axis

Posted: Thu Sep 02, 2021 7:34 pm
by daniel
Ah, that would make the algorithm much more complicated... well, a totally different algorithm actually.

Re: Subsampling on axis

Posted: Fri Oct 01, 2021 10:13 am
by JacekJaskolski
You could try a workaround:
  1. scale the pointcloud along the Z axis only: x(1.0) y(1.0) z(5.0)
  2. apply subsampling (0.5)
  3. scale the cloud back: x(1.0) y(1.0) z(0.2)
This should give you a point cloud with 5 times higher density in Z than in XY

Re: Subsampling on axis

Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2021 6:56 pm
by daniel
Ah, nice trick!