Detecting significant change using the M3C2 plugin

For any question about plugins!
bdanhoff

Detecting significant change using the M3C2 plugin

Post by bdanhoff »

First and foremost I apologize if the has already been addressed. I am relatively new to this and searched around the forum but didn't find questions/answers that seemed to address my issue.

My goal is to hopefully use the M3C2 tool to look for changes to substrates after sand is added (simulating embedding). Before using M3C2 I used the cloud to cloud distance tool to get a general idea of the change that occurred, and as can been seen there are some regions where the substrate has not changed much (<2mm) while in other regions there are greater differences
0-90difference.JPG
0-90difference.JPG (142.3 KiB) Viewed 14343 times
My hope was to use M3C2 to determine where significant change occurred (i.e. the regions with 2mm difference might not be significant compared to others), but every time I've analyzed the two clouds (using default settings for normals & projection = 0.013m, and 0.5m for max depth) I either get 100% significant change or 0% significant change for the entire model depending on if I'm using the precision map setting, which I'm pretty sure I'm not using properly. From the wiki page it says that the precision map can be done using the scalar fields from the cloud. When I check the box to use precision information the only option for the dropdown for Sigma(x), Sigma(y), and Sigma(z), are "Scalar field", rather than the sX, sY, sZ that are shown in the sample on the wiki page. Does this mean that scalar fields are not available for my data? The use of precision mapping is (I think) secondary to my initial question about what is considered significant change in the models.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated (and please let me know if additional information is needed).

Regards,
Brian
daniel
Site Admin

Re: Detecting significant change using the M3C2 plugin

Post by daniel »