PCL plugIn

For any question about plugins!
Post Reply
nenadpol
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:45 am

PCL plugIn

Post by nenadpol »

Hi,

I have installed CC 2.11. In this version there is pcl plugin QPCL_IO_PLUGIN, works fine.
I used Dependency Walker to check dependencies and no PCL dependencies for this plugin needed.

I downloaded QT5.8.3 and compiled with VS 2015. This solution has project QPCL_IO_PLUGIN. Compiled fine but when trying to run
I get message that some dependencied are missing, for example pcl_commom_debug.dll
I copied file from PCL and tried to run but got error message "pcl_commom_debug.dll..missing METADATA. "

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks
Nenad
daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 7382
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: PCL plugIn

Post by daniel »

I guess it's all about compiling PCL in static mode (= no DLLs)?
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
nenadpol
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:45 am

Re: PCL plugIn

Post by nenadpol »

Hi,

I compiled PLC 1.8.1 using VS 2015 Project Type = Dynamic Library (.dll)

I did not have CC installed when I compiled PCL and did not used ccIOPluginInterface

Do I have to compile PCL again and use

#include "ccIOPluginInterface.h"

Q_OBJECT
Q_INTERFACES( ccIOPluginInterface )
Q_PLUGIN_METADATA(IID "cccorp.cloudcompare.plugin.qPclIO" FILE "info.json")


thanks
Nenad
daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 7382
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: PCL plugIn

Post by daniel »

Nope, it's the other way around. You compile PCL and then provide the links to the libraries in CMake when building the project.
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
nenadpol
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:45 am

Re: PCL plugIn

Post by nenadpol »

Hi,

Configuration in CMake = OK
generate code in CMAKE = OK
building solution in VisualStudio = OK

Running CC = OK.

But, when I try to load plugin QPCL_PLUGINd.dll and run CC

this is error message :
Untitled.png
Untitled.png (5.27 KiB) Viewed 13086 times
thanks Nenad
daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 7382
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: PCL plugIn

Post by daniel »

Have you copied the PCL DLLs next to the plugin? If yes, you should actually copy them next to the CloudCompare.exe executable.

Otherwise CC will try to load them as plugins...
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
nenadpol
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:45 am

Re: PCL plugIn

Post by nenadpol »

I did what you wrote and that solved error message.
Still, CC does not load plugin QPCL_IO_PLUGINd.dll

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[Plugin] Searching: C:/Users/nenad/Downloads/CloudCompare-master/CC_win64/qCC/Debug/plugins
Plugin found: Example (Standard Plugin) (ExamplePlugind.dll)
QPCL_IO_PLUGINd.dll does not seem to be a valid plugin (Cannot load library C:\Users\nenad\Downloads\CloudCompare-master\CC_win64\qCC\Debug\plugins\QPCL_IO_PLUGINd.dll: The specified module could not be found.)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I guess, for some reason, CC does not accept pcl_common_debug.dll, pcl_io_debug.dll as valid dependencies.

Any ideas?

thenks
Nenad
nenadpol
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:45 am

Re: PCL plugIn

Post by nenadpol »

Solved the problem using Dependency Walker.
There were a lot of dll's missing.

Placed all of them with CC.exe and it worked.

thanks for helping
Nenad
Post Reply