Vertical distance

Feel free to ask any question here
hammad008

Vertical distance

Post by hammad008 »

Hello,

I am a grad student here at the Western Michigan University and I am using CloudCompare for my research.

I am trying to find out the underclearance of the bridge but there are two questions I would like to ask.

1. I have managed to fit a plane and calculate the distance from the girder to the plane using the ccComparisonDlg classes (which uses the hausdroffdistance I believe) to calculate the distance between the plane and the cloud. Can you please tell me if it is a completely vertical distance.

2. When the distance is calculated the scalar fields are on the cloud but the desirable result required is to make it appear over the plane, any suggestions how could I do it ?

Looking forward to your reply.

Thanks in advance.
Hammad
daniel
Site Admin

Re: Vertical distance

Post by daniel »

Hi

1. Haussdorff distance as computed by CloudCompare is simply the distance from each point to its nearest point/triangle in the other entity.So in the general case, it is absolutely not a vertical distance, but in your case it could be equivalent to a vertical distance if and only if the plane is the least-square best fitting plane.
2. CloudCompare can't do this right now (i.e. projecting scalar values onto another entity). At most you could flatten your cloud (by saving it into ASCII format, then loading it again and ignoring the Z component). Then you could triangulate the resulting 2D cloud to get a flat mesh with the right scalar field (but it may not be so nice)

Otherwise, here is a trick that may do what you want (but it depends on your input cloud):