Some bugs, improvment and futur idea for my favorite point cloud software

To post any request/idea for new functionalities
Remi-C

Some bugs, improvment and futur idea for my favorite point cloud software

Post by Remi-C »

Hello Daniel,
I recently gave formations about open source tools for point clouds, and a large part of it was about CloudCompare.

I have been using CC for 5 years and I am astonished of the result :
- an incredibly stable and efficient software (really, no more crashes on core functionalities!)
- all basic needs well covered
- a lot of advanced functionalities
- some bonus, such as powerful plugins.
- just take a look at meshlab to get an idea of how much and how well CC as grown!

As I covered almost all of the functionalities of CC in few days (several times),
I noticed some small problems and potential for improvements.
This is not a request list at all, more a way to give some feedbacks.

**** Bug ****
Version 2.8.1, win 10 64b, graphic card is ati 470 (2016), driver up to date.

#dealing with lines created by Tools/Segmentation/extract section
The lines width can be enlarged by going from "default" to for example "8".
Bug is that when the line lose focus (selecting another point cloud for instance),
and then the line is selected again,
the line width chose "default", even if the line width is actually still "8" (and it is displayed with the correct "8" width".
Pretty minor.

##Dealing with the Tools/projection/unroll
This is the only tool of its kind that is destructive (the original point cloud is transformed).
This is both surprising and dangerous (imho).
The tool should make a clone of issue a proper warning.

###About the QAnimation pluggin:
It is a great idea!
On my PC (graphic card is Graphics Chipset Radeon (TM) RX 470 Graphics),
I can export frame by frame but the produced video is rubbish (full duration, but frozen on first image or starting seconds too late).
(also the case on 2.9 beta)