Scripting?

To post any request/idea for new functionalities
adequat

Scripting?

Post by adequat »

I was wondering about the opinions on a possibility to script something in CC or to somehow use the full functionality of CC in scripts. I am still fairly new to this game but from what I see, having the ability to script a process in CC would make it a much more powerful tool for many applications.
I know that there is the command line processing but from the Wiki it looks like quite some functions are missing. Are any of the plugins available via the command line?
My application would be running the same steps on similar clouds (e.g. import, distance computations, rasterizing, save as plus, some volume calculations or a few areas, ...). Some of this would probably be possible with the command line but not all of it.

What I also like a lot about scripting is that one can be sure that (given the CC version does not change) the steps are exactly the same or vary only by what is defined in the script. Which makes it great for trying different parameters and so on and is good for scientific data, where every step from the raw data to the output should be well defined and reproducible.

I suspect that adding something like this would be a fairly large amount of work but I just wanted to see, what other people think.
daniel
Site Admin

Re: Scripting?

Post by daniel »

1) Since version 2.9, plugins can now be called through the command line... technically

2) Yes, only a limited number of functions is accessible through the command line interface, but it's because I'm the only one who seems to be willing to add new commands (hum, hum), and I don't have the time / motivation to add all of them as, as you guessed, it's quite some work and I don't personally use the command line!

3) Adding a more generic scripting mechanism (Python, etc.) would be great but would imply indeed a huge work (much more than simply extending the command line tool).
Daniel, CloudCompare admin